GREAT FALLS – Gallatin Valley is one win away from playing in the undefeated semifinal game on Saturday at the State Class A Tournament.

The Outlaws edged Northern A champions Vauxhall, 7-6, at Centene Stadium in opening round game Thursday morning. The win moved the Outlaws in a quarter final contest against the winner of the Mission Valley-Glasgow contest at 4 p.m. this afternoon. Three-time defending state champions Laurel defeated Libby 17-13. In the evening games Mission Valley took on Glasgow at 4 p.m. and Belgrade battle the host Great Falls Electrics at 7:30.

Gianfranco Filippini went the distance to lead the Outlaws. The senior struck out 10 Vauxhall batters, walked three and scattered six hits. He also had a good performance at the plate, going 2-for-2 with a double and triple.

The Outlaws (34-20) had a 3-0 lead after three innings. Vauxhall took the lead with a run in the fourth, two in the fifth and one more in the sixth for a 4-3 lead. Gallatin Valley pushed two runs across the plate in the seventh and one more in the eighth for a 7-4 lead. The Canadian club scored two runs in the ninth, but it wasn’t enough to defeat the Outlaws.

Gallatin Valley outhit Vauxhall 14-12 with Tanner Johnson went 2-for-4 with a double, Kohler Briggs 2-for-5 with a double, Ryder Kulbeck also went 2-for-5, Jordan Carlson, and John Holmes each went 2-for-4.

Gallatin Valley coach Duwayne Scott could not be reached for comments on the Outlaws games.

Gallatin Valley 7, Vauxhall 6

Vauxhall             000  121  002  -  6  12  4

Gallatin Valley  102  010  21x  -  7  14  1

Fehr, Gilbertson (7), and Cleland. Gianfranco Filippini and Dante Filippini. W – Gianfranco Filippini (8-4). L – Fehr.

VAUXHALL (29-18) – L. Kress 2-5, Ohashi 1-3, Zsednai 1-4, Cqrgood 0-4, Odland 0-4, Cleland 2-4 (2B), A. Kress 3-4, Wong 1-5, Hermann 2-5. Fehr 0-0, Gilbertson 0-0.

GALLATIN VALLEY (34-20) – Kohler Briggs 2-5 (2B), Ryder Kulbeck 2-5, Gianfranco Filippini 2-3 (2B, 3B), Tanner Johnson 2-4 (2B), Justin Woodward 1-2, Conner VanDyken 1-2, Conrad Schnur 0-4, Jordan Carlson 2-4, John Holmes 2-4, Dante Filippini 0-3.